Monday, October 25, 2010

Aphotic Segment 006 - The Sibyls Edition w/ Erika Sherman & Jennifer Rohde

Greetings scamps, scalawags, heretics, cowboys, and homo sapiens of the gypsy pedigree. We entice you to join us for the sixth and most exciting edition of Aphotic Segment yet. It will transcend your longest memories, ingrain your conventionalisms and titillate your sharpest senses. Yes, the heavens will most certainly be channeling their abstruse messages through Detroit two most abounding oracular prophetesses.

Join us as we welcome Erika Sherman and Jennifer Rohde for a night of eerie, auspicious, and intoxicating musical stylings that even the gods would be satisfied by. Additionally, we will be celebrating Erika’s birthday so be sure to offer her your best on this super day!

This will also be the official unofficial LCD Soundsystem afterglow. Check it!

Erika –, Interdimensional Transmissions
Jennifer Rohde – Dorkwave
Drew Pompa – Blank Artists

Wednesday, October 27th 2010
The Woodbridge Pub
5169 Trumbull Ave.
Detroit, MI 48208

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Blonde Mix No.1 - Curated By: Drew Pompa

From: The Blonde Collective

With the encroaching fall season upon us, we thought it was time that we updated the Soundtrack section of our website. A nice mix, we thought, would be something that the people would like. Something that they can stream at home when working or burn to CD and keep in their car for those long drives to see friends or wind down from evening events. We also wanted to make sure to keep the “local flavor” side of Blonde as part of it. So, we decided to call resident Blank Artists and Detroit DJ Drew Pompa up and charged him with the task of curating a mix for us. What he brought back, was fantastic.

An all-over, eclectic mix of down-tempo, hip-hop and Latin sounds, Drew’s mix for Blonde No. 1 hits it right on the mark. Stream/Download the mix below.


1. Chicago Underground Quartet – Tunnel Chrome
2. Stereolab – The Flower Called Nowhere
3. Super Collider – In the Beams
4. Architeq – Odyssey
5. About Flying – Satellite
6. The Gaslamp Killer – Anything Worse
7. Dorian Concept – Fourteen
8. Coyote Clean Up – Gloomy Booty
9. Madlib – Mystic Bounce
10. The Pharcyde – Runnin’
11. Black Sheep – Strobelight Honey
12. Onra – Don’t Stop
13. Mount Kimbie – 50 Mile View
14. Mocky – Golden Dream
15. Senor Coconut – Upper Mambo / Lower Funk Mezcla Sentimental
16. Dan Satch & His Atomic Dance Band – Woman Pin Down
17. Nickodemus & Quantic – Mi Swing Es Tropical
18. The Don Isaac Ezekiel Combination – Amalinja
19. Super Collider – Alchemical Confession
20. Tobacco – Orgy Drills
21. Blackpocket – Boungie
22. Aardvarck – Convolution

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Aphotic Segment 005 | September 29th 2010

Aphotic Segment 005 was, yet again, another stellar gathering of fine stylings and peeps from the various neighboring sectors of our fine city of Detroit. Our guest for this month's edition was friend and past Red Bull Music Academy selectee, Jeff Risk.

Risk has been keeping busy with a steady flow of production work, dj gigs, and being an all around unsung pillar of the community. His current interests in the vast realm of music have include styles that range from dub and punk to booty and if this is your forte, be sure to download part 2 from this month's series. Additionally, if his set melts your spinal cord, then catch Risk again this Saturday at Oslo in Detroit with local radio disc jockey, DJ Zap. Party details can be accessed HERE.

We hope to see you again at the end of this month for a very special birthday edition of Aphotic Segment on October 27th, as operator and Ectomorph member, Erika Sherman celebrates her natal day in true fashion, alongside of good friend and Dorkwave member, Jennifer Rohde. Come and play!

Part 1: Drew Pompa
Length: 1:12:03
Format: MP3
Bit Rate: 192 KBPS
Link: Download

01. High Wolf - Solar System is My God
02. Studio - Life's A Beach!
03. To Rocco Rot - Away
04. Colder - Burnt Out
05. Baths - Lovely Bloodflow
06. Daedelus - Drops (Cyne Collaboration)
07. BOC - Dawn Chorus
08. Chihei Hatakeyama - The Moon Reflecting on the Surface
09. Liquid Liquid - Lock Groove
10. Eroc - Der Prophet
11. Giddle & Boyd - Bonnie & Clyde
12. Andrew Weatherall - Pox on the Pioneers
13. Inca Babies - Plenty More Mutants
14. Psychic TV - Just Like Arcadia
15. Shriekback - Accretions
16. Les Provisoires - In Love
17. 800beloved - Colours
18. John Maus - Do Your Best
19. Daedelus - Just Briefly
20. Pharoah Sanders - Harvest Time

Part 2: Jeff Risk
Length: 1:34:34
Format: MP3
Bit Rate: 192
Link: Download
Tracklisting TBA

Part 3: Drew Pompa
Length: 44:38
Format: MP3
Bit Rate: 192 KBPS
Link: Download

01. To Rocco Rot - Seele
02. Outhud - The L Train is a Swell Train & I Don't Want to Hear You Indies Complain
03. Tobbaco - Fresh Hex Featuring Beck
04. Morbid Opera - Private Prostitute
05. The Flying Lizards - Her Story
06. Artefact - Sex Computer
07. Metro Pakt - Neu Strassen
08. Liaisons Dangereuses - Los Ninos Del Parque
09. John Maus - My Whole World's Coming Apart
10. Artefact - M.A.E.
11. Pylon - Cool
12. Bush Tetras - Cowboys In Africa
13. Pylon - Stop It
14. Moder English - Someone Calling
15. Casino Music - Concorde
16. Colder - Downtown
17. Les Provisoires - So Much More